Home > The Economy > If I were only allowed to have one labor-market graph

If I were only allowed to have one labor-market graph

from John Schmitt

If I were only allowed to have one labor-market graph, these days I think it would be this one.

Change in employment relative to peak, recent recessions
Source: Catherine Rampell, NYT. “Horizontal axis shows months. Vertical axis shows the ratio of that month’s nonfarm payrolls to the nonfarm payrolls at the start of recession. Note: Because employment is a lagging indicator, the dates for these employment trends are not exactly synchronized with National Bureau of Economic Research’s official business cycle dates.”

Paul Krugman said it well earlier today: “been down so long it looks like up to me.”

  1. Andrew
    March 9, 2011 at 2:43 pm

    Would be nice to have the great depression on there for perspective…

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.