Home > Uncategorized > Hope 101?

Hope 101?

from Peter Radford

A nice way to end the week:

I overheard a conversation between two high school students this morning.

The first person was asking about which classes the second was going to take next. One of those mentioned was microeconomics.

“Oh, that’s easy” said the first, “You just have to remember that its all rubbish – they want you to believe that people are rational, and that there’s all this perfection in the world.”

“Really?” responded the second, “That’s really dumb. I wonder why they do that?”

“It doesn’t matter, it’s economics”

“Well maybe I’ll take history instead, at least I might learn something useful.”

And, yes, this was the conversation.

A small ray of hope?

 

  1. April 23, 2016 at 12:29 pm

    Part of the stimulation for my book “Economics versus Reality” was when my son’s (then)girlfriend asked me about her micro class: “It doesn’t make sense.” I told her that she was quite correct, but to pass the class she had to pretend to believe it. She accepted my advice and went on to start a promising career in marketing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.